Dr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery logoDr. Ma Plastic and Cosmetic surgery

Zygoma and Zygomatic Arch Smooth Reduction Plasty

[ Author:Dr. Fushun Ma | Time:2011-10-20 10:02:03 |  Font Size: [Large Medium Small]
Tags:zygoma bone,zygomatic arch,reduction plasty, smoothing reduction

Zygoma and zygomatic arch smoothing reduction plasty is come from Dr. Fushun Ma's technique of the multiple osteotomy zygoma and zygomatic arch plasty. On the basis of anatomy and anthropometry study, large volume CT measurement study and reviewing the existing of surgical methods of zygoma and zygomatic arch reduction plastyon the basis of a trial, through a large number of  and CT measurement analysis . Dr. Ma Fushun put forward a new surgical procedure for zygoma and zygomatic reduction plasty in 1995. He call it multiple osteotomy zygoma and zygomatic arch reduction plasty. This procedure narrows the face by multiple osteotomy of the zygomatic complex, displacing the arch inward and reducing the bulging of the arch.

Why multiple osteotomy

Zygomatic arch is an curved structure of rigid bone, by making two of less osteotomy sites one can not change the curvature of the rigid bony object. Before we can make the zygomatic arch straighter we have to cut the bone at three or more sites and make the arch in two or more pieces.  On the other hand to straighten an arch-shaped object, its length, which is the distance between points A and B in the following diagram, is bound to increase. Therefore after the straightening the original position sport of the zygomatic arch will not be able to accommodate the enlarged length of the zygomatic arch, in order to dock the straighten zygomatic arch  perfectly a certain length of the zygomatic arch has to be removed .

复合截骨颧弓降低示意图-术前设计  复合截骨颧弓降低示意图-术后

Photo caption: The bone fragment between C and D is removed. A and B indicate the osteotomy site. Two ends of the zygomatic arch is pushed inward letting the C and D point docking using steel wire or titanium plates for fixation (previously fixation is needed, now no fixation is needed for this procedure).  After the straightening of the zygomatic arch the face is slimmer and there are no longer any bulging zygomatic arch can be seen from the side of the face.

颧弓弧长计算示意图Surgical principle of mutiple osteotomy  zygoma and zygomatic arch reduction plasty

Along the zygomatic complex three osteotomies is done and in the middle portion  of the zygomatic arch (between C and D ) is removed, so that the reduced zygomatic arch chord length, the distance between A and B remains the same to ensure the straightened zygomatic arch still can be fit in the site perfectly. Therefore, how much of the zygomatic arch will be removed is key to the design of this procedure and the length of bone been removed determines reduction magnitude of the zygomatic arch.

With this method one may say we can reduce the zygomatic arch on the magnitude of whatever we wanted. It is not true. If the osteectomy length between C and d is too long the two ends can not be directly docked in the middle. The soft tissue will be embedded in between and new zygomatic arch can not be healed properly. On the other hand, beneath the zygomatic arch muscles, other soft tissues and even bone structure are present. If the zygomatic arch is displaced inward too much these structures will be squeezed and lay impact on there functions.。

The pre-operation planning steps of multiple osteotomy zygoma and zygomatic arch reduction plasty. First of all CT scans of the zygomatic arch is carried out and arch height is calculated. This height indicates the maximum reduction amount of the zygomatic arch. Over reduction of the zygomatic arch will cause zygmatic arch indentation. The amount of the reduction is decided by the facial reshaping demanding. Clinical experience the maximum reduction amount is 1.5CM on each side, bilaterally total reduction amount will reach 3CM as 1/ 5 to 1 / 4 of the face width being trimmed away thus narrowing the face significantly. Once the reduction amount is confirmed the supposedly removed segment length between C and D can be calculated according to the zygomatic arch length and the mathematic formula.

The fixation of the multiple osteotomy zygoma and zygomatic arch reduction plasty

The major functions of the zygoma bone and the zygomatic arch are to provide attachment points for the facial expression muscle and to  protect the skull. See the anatomy of zygoma bone and the  zygomatic arch. The multiple osteotomy zygoma and ygomatic arch reduction plasty will not cause any adverse effect on the facial appearance and the function of the zygoma bone and  the zygomatic arch depends on its reliable fixation technique. After the osteotomy the zygomatic arch is completely oruncompletely fractured and combination forces from the masseter muscle and the gravity are tend to move free pieces of zygoma bone downward resulting in facial depression and sagging. In realizing that Dr. Fushun Ma invented the mortise and tenon fixation technique of zygoma bone to acquire solid fixation with out any external plate and screw fixation and no foreign body left in the face.

zygoma smoothing reduction plasty--before operation zygoma smoothing reduction plasty--segment of bone been removed

zygoma smoothing reduction plasty--post operation

zygma and zygomatic arch smoothing reduction plasty

The clinical application of multiple osteotomy zygoma redcution plasty proved successful. Zygomatic osteotomy combined application of clinical and acquired good results. It fundamentally overcomes the major drawback of grinding and simple simple osteotomy procedures. But its procedure is still a bit complicated to handle and in addition to the mucosal incision in the oral cavity another relatively large incision, about 6cm's long, is needed.  In recent years, Dr. Fushun Ma reformed this procedure by change the osteectomy position and its operation steps. The incision in the hair line reduced to only 1cm. The multiple osteotomy can be done and the zygomatic arch can be displaced inward smoothly with an effective facial narrowing result. Thus the surgical trauma is much less savior and the recovery time is much shorter. Greatly reduced surgical trauma, faster postoperative recovery. Dr. Fushun Ma calls the surgical technique zygma and zygomatic arch smoothing reduction plasty.

As the undermining area is smaller and less muscle is been stripped down from the bone attachment the facial soft tissue sagging is better avoided.  The operation is very well tolerated with minimum surgical trauma, only 4-6 drainage hours and about 10 hours bandage time.wound is small, placing drainage tube for only 4-6 hours, wrap time is very short, usually in 10 hours. The majority of the patients were able to resume work after the second or third day. Patients can eat normally the next day. However, local external collisions should be avoided for three months.

CT image before zygoma plastic surgeryCT image after zygomatic arch reduction surgery.

The CT scan images at the level of zygomatic arch show the curved structure of the zygomatic arch before operation and the much straighter appearance after operation. This change narrows the distance between the most bulging points of the zygomatic arch both sides of the zygomatic arch, so the narrowing of the face.

The features of the zygoma and zygomatic arch smoothing reduction plasty

1. The incision: oral mucosal incision plus a 1cm long incision in the hair line. The hair line incision is hardly visible after healing. After the incision healed basically invisible.

2. No external fixtures, such as titanium plate titanium screw fixation are needed. No need to worry about the bone and soft tissue sagging.

3. Bandage for only one day. Eating normally the following day.After the next day the patient can eat normally.

    
[Previous]measurement of zygoma and zygom.. [Next]Indications of Zygoma and Zygom..
Related Pages
New Pages
Hot Pages

4您现在的位置:>首页 -> 面部骨骼整形 -> 颧骨颧弓整形
颧骨颧弓舒平术
[ 作者:马福顺 | 来源:原创| 时间:2011-10-21 09:37:33 |  选择浏览字号: 【
Tags:颧骨颧弓舒平 颧弓内推 颧弓舒平 颧骨颧弓整形 复合截骨

“颧骨颧弓舒平术”是由马福顺博士发明的“颧骨颧弓复合截骨术”发展而来。在对前人手术方法试用分析的基础上,通过大量的解剖学,人体测量学和CT影像学测量研究。马福顺博士于1995年提出了颧骨颧弓复合截骨术颧骨颧弓降低的新术式--颧骨颧弓复合截骨整形术。 这一术式的原理是采用多处截骨,颧弓内推,改变颧骨颧弓的弧度的方法使面部变窄。

为什么要多处复合截骨

颧弓是一个弓形的骨性结构,两处以下截骨不可能改变颧弓这一刚性物体的弧度,所以只有采取三处以上截骨才能使其弓度发生改变而起到缩窄面部的作用。另一方面要将弓形物体的弓度拉直后,其长度,也就是如下图所示A,B两点间的直线距离,必然增加,所以颧弓变直后其原有的位置就不能容纳变长的颧弓,只有在颧弓的某一部分截除一定长度的骨骼才能使变直以后的颧弓完美对接。

复合截骨颧弓降低术示意图-术前设计  复合截骨颧弓降低示意图-颧弓降低后固定

图片说明:将CD之间的骨骼切除,并且切开A,B两处骨骼。颧弓内推,使其弓度变直后将C,D两断端对接并用钢丝或钛板因定(早期术式需要固定,现在的术式不再需要任何钢丝或钛板固定)。颧弓弓度变直后脸部两侧就再没有突出的颧弓可见,脸形变小。

颧弓弧长计算示意图颧骨颧弓复合截骨术设计原理

在颧骨颧弓复合体上造成三处截骨,并在颧弓中间(CD之间)部分截除一定长度的颧弓,使降低后的颧弓弦长,也就是a,b两点间的直线距离保持不变,保证颧弓在降低后仍能完美对接。所以CD之间的截骨长度是手术设计的关键,截除长度的大小决定了颧弓降低的幅度。

有了这种方法是不是说颧弓降低的幅度可以想做多大就做多大?其实不然。如果CD之间的截骨长度过大,截骨两端的颧弓就不能直接对接,中间就会有其它软组织嵌入,使截骨后的颧弓不能愈合。另外颧骨下方有肌肉和其它软组织,甚至骨性结构,如果颧弓过度降低会挤压这些组织及结构影响功能。

颧骨颧弓复合截骨术前设计步骤。首先进行颧弓CT扫描,计算出颧弓的弓高。这一高度也就是颧弓能够降低的最大量,过于降低颧弓有造成颧弓内陷的可能。根据脸形变化的需要确定颧弓降低量,也就是说弓高的降低量。最大降低量的数值因人而宜。根据以往临床经验,最大降幅可达每侧1.5CM,双侧合计就可达3CM,相当于将整个面部的宽度变窄1/5到1/4,可以起到明显缩窄面部宽度的作用。颧弓弓高降幅确定后,依据颧弓弧长,根据公式精确地计算出CD之间骨骼切除长度。

颧骨颧弓复合截骨术的固定

颧骨颧弓的主要功能是为表情肌提供附着点和保护面部及颅骨,见颧骨颧弓解剖。颧骨颧弓复合截骨术对颧骨颧弓的功能和面部软组织的外形不会造成任何影响,主要依赖于其可靠的固定技术。颧骨颧弓截骨整形后,有一部分颧骨颧弓的骨片已经游离并可以移动,表情肌及咬肌力量及重力的作用都有可能使已经游离的骨片向下移位,造成颧骨凹陷和面部下垂的不良外观。复合截骨术在颧骨颧弓的前端采用了马福顺博士发明的卯榫固定技术,不用任何钛钉钛板外固定,不在自体内留任何异物的情况下保证了坚固的固定。

复合截骨颧骨颧弓整形术示意--术前 复合截骨颧骨颧弓整形术示意--去除骨段
术前仰头位观察颧弓明显向外侧突出,在颧弓前后端根部设计截骨线作为颧弓降低时的旋转轴

复合截骨颧骨颧弓整形术示意-术后
颧弓降低后两侧颧弓断端正好能够对合

颧骨颧弓舒平术

颧骨颧弓复合截骨术应用临床后取得很好的效果。从根本上克服了磨骨术和单纯截骨术的主要缺点。但其手术操作比较繁琐,除口腔内有切口外,在颞部发际内也需要一个比较大,长约6CM的切口。近年来,马福顺博士对这一手术方法又进行了改进,改变了去除骨段的位置,及手术操作方法。这样颞部发际内的切口只需约1CM长,就可以做到颧骨颧弓多处截骨,使颧骨颧弓复合体平滑地内收,降低颧弓起到变窄面部的作用。手术创伤大大减小,术后恢复更加快速。马福顺博士称这一术式为颧骨颧弓舒平术。

由于手术的分离范围大大缩小,肌肉从骨骼表面被剥离下来的也很少,所以更好地避免了面部软组织下垂的可能。该手术创伤小,放置引流管时间只有4-6小时,包扎时间也很短,一般在10个小时以内。大部分受术者可以在术后第二或第三天恢复上班。术后第二天就可正常进食。但应避免局部外力碰撞三个月。

颧骨颧弓舒平术前CT颧骨颧弓舒平术后CT
同一受术者术前术后CT断层,断面为经过颧弓的水平断面。左侧术前CT片可见颧弓弓度较大,右侧术后者弓度较小,颧弓变直。这种变化使两侧颧弓最突出点的距离变小。面部宽度变窄。

颧骨颧弓舒平术的特点

1.手术切口:口腔内切口加一发际内约1cm长的小切口。愈合后切口基本看不见。

2.不用任何外固定物如钛钉钛板固定,骨骼及软组织不会出现下垂。

3.颧骨颧弓愈合后,结构功能不受任何影响。颧骨颧弓的强度与手术前一致。

4.术后包扎一天。术后第二天就可以正常进食。

[上一篇]颧骨颧弓测量
更多
[下一篇]颧骨颧弓整形(菱形脸改正)术前..
相关文章
最新文章
热门文章